Wednesday 9 August 2017 | 8:41 PM Damascus Local Time
  • Qatar Opens Its Doors For 80 Countries’ Citizens Without Visa


    Agencies (Qasioun) - Qatar will now allow nationals from 80 countries to enter without a visa, the Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) announced Wednesday.


    “With this decision, Qatar hopes to bring fresh diversity to the tourism sector,” Hassan al-Ibrahimi, the QTA’s chief development officer, said at a news conference in Doha.


    “Countries that will now benefit from visa-free travel were selected according to certain criteria,” Ibrahimi added, noting that additional countries would be added to the list.


    According to Mohamed Rashid al-Mazroui, passport director at Doha’s Hamad International Airport, citizens of exempted countries will no longer have to pay entrance fees when entering Qatar.


    Mazroui said countries given visa-free status had been selected on the basis of “security and economic assessments” conducted by the Interior Ministry.


    Source: Anadolu Agency

    Saudi Kuwait Qatar doha UAE Egypt Bahrain Turkey world news Visa