Friday 29 June 2018 | 10:38 AM Damascus Local Time
  • World Cup Russia 2018 Round 16 … The Real Challenge Just Began

    Contributed By: Talal Kharrat - Edited By : Talal Kharrat


    (Qasioun) – 16 National football teams were qualified to the round 16 of the World Cup Russia 2018.


    Yesterday, Thursday 28 June, England lost 1-0 to Belgium in their final group game to finish second in Group G. both qualified to the round16.


    Japan, despite the loss, qualified to the round 16 following a plenty of drama in Group H as Jan Bednarek’s goal in the 59th minute Thursday in Volgograd gave Poland a 1-0 victory over Japan.


    Colombia defeated Senegal 1-0 to advance to the World Cup round of 16 as Group H winners in a result that sent the African side out of the competition on the fair play ranking.


    Yerry Mina's 74th-minute header allowed Colombia to top the group on six points, while Senegal finished level on four points with Japan, who lost 1-0 to already-eliminated Poland in the other group game played simultaneously.



    The following are the 16 teams who were qualified to the round 16:

    Group A: Uruguay and Russia

    Group B: Spain and Portugal

    Group C: France and Denmark

    Group D: Croatia and Argentina

    Group E: Brazil and Switzerland

    Group F: Sweden and Mexico

    Group G: England and Belgium

    Group H: Japan and Colombia


    Meanwhile, 16 National Football teams were defeated from the World Cup race including all the Arabic national teams.


    Group A: Saudi Arabia and Egypt

    Group B: Iran and Morocco

    Group C: Peru and Australia

    Group D: Nigeria and Iceland

    Group E: Costa Rica and Serbia

    Group F: Germany and South Korea

    Group G: Tunisia and Panama

    Group H: Poland and Senegal


    World Cup Russia 2018 Japan Belgium England world news